Even series.

21 Apr

I knew we would win game 4.  What I didn’t expect was another shutout.  It was a hell of a game.

It was my first time going to the party in the plaza.  All week long it said it was going to be 65 degrees.  Naturally, I was looking forward to this.  All day long it was super windy outside so I had been alright with that.  But then add that to the (barely?) 40 degree weather that was also occurring and I know why I can still feel the freezing air throughout my body four hours later. Holy HELL was it cold!  About midway through the first period I couldn’t feel my toes anymore.  I thought I wore enough layers.  I thought wrong.  Brr!  It was still a great game, watching with great people.

I had a feeling the Sabres were going to come out strong, and they did. I was very happy with the way they handled the physicality of the game tonight. They weren’t taking shit from ANYONE.  I’ve watched Myers drop Briere over 5 times now.  Myers certainly had his mean streak going tonight, and I couldn’t have been happier to see that.   Carcillo wants to bump Miller?  Miller isn’t gonna take that either, and he retaliated. Feisty Miller is my favorite Miller. 

I don’t think Richard’s elbow warrants a suspension, but it definitely should have been a major. Watch the replay. He sees Kaleta, and instead of just bracing for the hit, he intentionally elbows him in the head. The really sad thing is the big hockey media right now are saying that they would have done the same thing. I don’t understand it.   Kris Versteeg said,

“I think (Richards) was just protecting himself because you never know what Patrick Kaleta is capable of.  He is a dangerous player out there when it comes down to it. You never know if he’s going to run you from behind or if he’s going to hit you without the puck.”

Um, Kris. Have you seen who you play for? Your entire team is filled with dirty players.  I’m not saying Kaleta is a saint, but all he was doing was going for the check. Maybe Richards should have just taken it like a man instead of throwing an elbow. And the Flyers are going to complain about the penalties called on them? Hi, watch Game 2 and think again about opening your mouth. When you have morons like Hartnell and Carcillo on your team, you’re going to get some penalties called on you.

SOMEONE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD FIX THAT EFFING POWER PLAY. I hate nothing more than watching wasted lengthy opportunities go to waste because of our garbage plays.

Pominville scored the only goal of the game. I take credit for this one because before the game I asked if Pominville was still playing this series.  :p 

About midway through the 2nd period I thought to myself  “Is this seriously going to be another 1-0 game? Apparently it’s the only way we can win games.” Of course there was no way in hell I was saying that out loud, jinxes and all.   At the end of the game Shelby said pretty much exactly that. I looked at her and said I was thinking that earlier but couldn’t say it til the end of the game. Great minds think alike, duh.

RYAN MOTHER FUCKING MILLER.   Holy crap.  Where did this beast come from?  He was unreal, just..  wow.  I think the Flyers talking shit to him works wonders for him. Keep at it boys.  It’s only going to help us in the end. That save he made when Briere was in all alone on him, I forgot to breathe for about a minute. He absolutely deserved everyone, inside and outside, chanting his name. Even Lindy said he was chanting with the crowd. 

The scrum at the end was ridiculous. I need to watch it again tomorrow on the replay because I was too busy celebrating the shutout to pay attention, but the bad blood between these teams is starting to boil over. Spearing Gerbe, really? He will crush your soul. Myers will continue to crush Briere, and anyone else who gets in his way. Better stay away from Miller’s crease, because he doesn’t give a shit either. We aren’t scared.

I’m glad I braved the harsh conditions for this game. The party in the plaza is awesome. Hopefully there will be a round 2, so it’ll be a bit warmer for the next time I can go!

I’ll leave you with little bit of awesomeness.

http://i.imgur.com/sBKhc.gif

Leave a Reply

