A New Team.

7 Mar

A couple entries ago, in early January (I know I’ve been slacking a lot), I wrote “Let’s face it, I do not think we are making the playoffs this year.”

The Buffalo Sabres are currently sitting in 8th place.

I just sat here for 3 minutes reading that last sentence over and over, trying to let in sink in. You can’t tell me one person in Buffalo would have predicted this in November. They went 3-7-2 in October. They didn’t win a game at home until November 13th. Home games were as pathetic as they could be, on the ice and in the crowd. The building had no energy in it. They might as well have been road games. You can’t blame the crowd. The team was frustrating as hell to watch. At times it looked as if they didn’t care, and were lazy.  Quite fitting for the team that sat last in the NHL.

Fast forward to today. Since Terry Pegula has taken over on Feb 22, the Sabres have not lost in regulation, going 5-0-2 in the last 7 games.  They went out the following night to a rocking arena with a special feeling in the air, and took down Atlanta in another huge game standings-wise. The team doesn’t quit. They don’t want to lose. And it shows. The Sabres of October would have laid down and gave up on Saturday after going down 2-0 to Philly.  Not this team. They came back and scored 3 unanswered goals.

As I watched Stafford circle around the defenseman in OT tonight I said two words out loud. “Holy shit.” I knew he was going to score that goal. I almost didn’t even celebrate the goal. My mind immediately went back to 05-06 with Pominville’s OT winner over Ottawa. Then I started to think about it more afterwards. I already said it on twitter, but I’ll say it on here too. There is a certain feeling around this team nowadays. I don’t know how to explain it. Believe me, I’ve been sitting here for over a half hour trying to think of a way to.

This team right now is motivated. It shows on the ice.  Yes, they do have their 2nd period breakdowns still, but they have found a way to overcome them.  I don’t want to get ahead of myself and predict some ridiculous ending to this season, because I still don’t believe it will happen. But that being said, it almost feels like this team can do anything right now.

And when Rob Niedermayer scores, you know it’s true.

One Response to “A New Team.”

  1. Lori March 7, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Brilliant! I couldn’t agree more!
    I was about to give up myself on them back in October/November. I’m so thrilled they finally made it this far. Now… if Carolina and the Rangers can just keep losing their games, the Sabres will definitely keep their spot.

Leave a Reply

